The star of the blog

HER NAME IS VICTORIA. (My name is Raquel, but I digress…) She was given to me by my husband, about two years before we got married. She was the tiniest cat but that doesn’t mean she wasn’t…well…mean. Among her many talents, she’s persistent, independent, and melodramatic. No, she’s not an actress in a cheesy soap opera but she always gets what she wants by complaining and whining a bit. Blame me, the cat lover.

Let me get to the point of this blog: When Victoria came into my life, in May 2014, I was living by myself in a relatively large city. I had everything I needed within a ten minute walking distance: the grocers’, the gym, the park, you name it. Although I had that, I was (and still am) overweight. At 5’7″, I weigh 185 lbs. I started gaining a lot of weight right after I got out of college, in 2011. During my university years, which I miss deeply (talk about not having the weight of responsibility on your shoulders!), I walked several miles everyday, just for fun, and I loved it. I only used the train when I needed to go home on the weekends. Therefore, I managed to keep my weight at 160 lbs.

In 2012, my dad gave me my first car. I had just gotten a job away from home and needed a car. Accepting that car was the worst mistake I ever made, healthwise. I started driving everywhere and I became a couch potato, caught in the stress of adult life. By the end of 2012, I had gained 20 lbs and felt like total crap. I would eat cookies like I was the Cookie Monster, I would devour chocolate cake like I was Augustus Gloop in the Chocolate Factory,  I wou…well, you get the picture.

In June 2015, I came across Mark Sisson’s book, The Primal Blueprint. Read it, loved it and decided to give it a try. I did, and managed to lose some weight and felt much better. Buuuuuuuuut, my life has shown me that all good things come to an end (now I have Nelly Furtado’s All Good Things stuck in my head) and in the beginning of 2016, I gave up trying to lose weight. Why, you ask? Try planning a wedding, then we’ll talk.

Now, nearly four months after the wedding, I decided it’s time to take real care of myself. I got back on The Primal Blueprint way of life and vow to do my best to keep up with it. It’s not just a matter of being thinner, it’s a matter of living longer.

Now, what does Victoria have to do with that? As I share my journey with the world, you will see how some pets can help you keep it together. Some pets can make all the difference when you go through big changes in your life, when you get married, or have kids, or move to a very different location than what you’re used to, or go through an illness, or, in my case, your husband/wife works away from home, or whatever it may be that you go through.

Victoria is more than my pet, she’s my friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

